Login    Register

Intro Sparklz

Mission Statement, Member Intro's, Help Topics
  • Author
Intro Sparklz

Unread postby Sparklz » Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:16 pm

I'd like to introduce myself to the forum and it's members. Normally, I don't go for clubs, chapters, or large moto organizations but after meeting Broz on another forum, I thought I'd take a closer look at COFSTA. Judging from the pictures, ride postings, and the "rules" I think I'll be a good fit. I've been riding motorcycles for approximately 45 years. I've ridden, owned, lusted after, crashed and wrenched on many different brands of bikes but the last 10-15 years have been on BMW's. I recently retired from a 30 year, uh, shall we say colorful, career with the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department. Six of those years, I was assigned to the traffic unit called HITS. That stands for Highway Interdiction Traffic Safety. I was tasked with formulating and implementing a motorcycle squad as part of that unit. Without question, that was the best job I've ever had. Other than investigating all traffic fatalities in the city, getting paid to ride motorcycles was almost too good to be true. We started out riding HD Road Kings, then switched to BMW RT's (much better police bike). No good deed goes unpunished and after 6 years of this dream assignment, I made my Captain mad, (really mad), and he kicked me off the unit. So, back to patrol I went, fighting crime and thwarting evil.